About the National Achievement Awards

Each year, Learning Ally offers two endowed scholarship awards for outstanding students with print and learning disabilities. The recipients of these awards are role models of success and inspiration to students throughout the country. The top three winners from each program receive a $6,000 scholarship award and participate at a national celebration. In 2016 and in 2017 this celebration will take place in Denver, Colorado. 

Awards Applications:

Award for college seniors and graduate students who are blind or visually impaired: Mary P. Oenslager Scholastic Achievement Awards (SAA)

Mary P. Oenslager

Mary P. Oenslager was a friend of Anne Macdonald, our founder. She began contributing to Learning Ally, formerly RFB&D, in 1953 and, in 1959, helped us establish the Scholastic Achievement Awards program, personally funding the awards. Mary P. Oenslager shaped the program and enjoyed getting to know the winners each year. In addition to her financial support, she was an active volunteer, serving on our Board of Directors and actively recruited individual and corporate supporters.

Award for high school seniors who are learning disabled: Marion Huber Learning Through Listening (LTL) Awards

Marion Huber

Marion Huber made her first gift of $200 to Learning Ally, formerly RFB&D, in 1959. By 1990, she was making gifts in the range of $20,000. Marion Huber was particularly focused on the expanded mission, reaching out to students with learning disabilities. She observed the power of “learning through listening” to transform lives, and it was for this reason that she endowed our award for students with dyslexia and other disabilities that prevent effective reading. By creating a permanent endowment, Marion Huber ensured that the work she valued during her lifetime continues today.

National Achievement Awards and U.S. Presidents